Personal Zen

ZEN.WALL

Currently I’ve been focused on practicing being more present. We can only live one day at a time, and I have to constantly remind myself of that.  This can be a challenge when so many things I am working towards require thinking about, and making plans for, the future.  But, for the first time since starting college, I find myself moving in a direction in which I am confident and motivated, with specific career goals in mind.  I have a passion for creating and imagining, and have found a space where my talents can best be put to use.  I am excited to continue working hard and educating myself, knowing it will lead me towards a purposeful and fulfilling career…it only took a decade of exploration, many mistakes, lots of lessons learned, and loving support to find myself here.  For me this means more than reaching for financial security or success.  Finding this direction has made me feel assured in who I want to be as I continue to grow, and is forcing me to ask myself what I truly have to offer others and myself.   The challenge I face now is learning to concentrate on the goals I set for myself, and moving forward with them.  Which is exciting and a little nerve racking for someone who spends too much time thinking about…EVERYTHING.   This is where being more present comes in really handy for me, because I tend to be more focused and productive when I stay in the moment.  Otherwise, my thoughts, my worries, my creativity, and my objectives, all pull me in too many directions.  Right now, as I begin this practice, I am setting daily intentions that ultimately work towards my big picture goals.  I believe in balance in every aspect of life, and this is another place in my life, and in my mind, where I must learn to find a balance.  With our lives in constant flux, we must reassess the areas in our life that need re-balancing, and adjust accordingly.   You know what they say: “Life is a balancing act”.

Leave a Reply

