Joie de Vivre

FlowersBW.jpegI’ve been working more and more in Photoshop and Illustrator to edit my illustrations and designs…and I am loving it more and more.  This past week I was asked to design and print 50 cards, by my friend Rose. She wanted cards to send out on special occasions, Birthdays, and just to say hello.  We came up with three designs that she really loved.   All three share the message “joie de vivre”, which expresses the joy of living.  I like that message, so it was a pleasure designing cards to express that.  I created one design that could be sent out to a wide range of people in Rose’s life, keeping it vibrant, yet simple, and with hopes it’s a joy to look at (above design).   The other two below, were more specifically designed for her.  She requested a bulldog card, which was fun because I’ve been known for doodling dogs (I have a few wiener dog designs up my sleeve right now for my sisters wedding). The final card was a collaboration between Bill and I.  Rose had given me a wonderful photo of her and her pup kayaking together, a loved past time, and asked me to incorporate it because the photo had so much happiness in it.  I immediately thought how special it would be if Bill could draw the portrait of the two of them.  I am so thrilled with the final result.  I really love working with him, and it’s exciting explore what we can do together as artists.

This is also the first time I’ve had cards printed professionally (we went through kinkos and did the cutting and the fold ourselves), and I was pleased with how they turned out!

washicard1washicard2washicard3

2 thoughts on “Joie de Vivre

  1. LOVE the little bulldog card! I have two Bulldogs, and have a definite “appreciation” for anything featuring those wrinkly little guys. I live in Loveland and I’ve been following you for a while – I just started a little blog and would love to meet up sometime!

    • Thank you! I’d love to get together with you and chat blogging and what not some time. This time a year is really busy for me but lets stay in touch and plan a time to meet! Thank you for contacting me and hope to talk soon! Happy Blogging:)

Leave a Reply

