Zombie Cake

While browsing cute boutiques in Seattle with my mom I came across these zombie finger puppets, (which I also found online here) and bought them, not knowing exactly what I was going to do with them.  While thinking about what holiday treats I wanted to make this year, I realized how cute, and creepy, these guys would be as toppers for a zombie themed Halloween cake.  I invited my friend Rae over to help me assemble the cake, which came together quickly and easily.  I cut corners on this one by using boxed yellow cake mix and store bought chocolate icing.  Everything else I used to decorate the cake I had on hand at home.   I made a two layered round cake so I was able to added a little more pizzaz by spreading raspberry jam and Nutella between the layers…yum!   Coconut dyed with green food coloring was a simple solution for our grass.  I hadn’t thought about making mounds of “dirt” for the zombies to be emerging from, but when Rae mentioned it I loved the idea.  We had cut off the top of the the bottom layer in order to make a flat surface for joining the two layers.  From the extra, slightly rounded and thin top layer, we cut the raised grave mounds.  Our tombstones were made from black card stock and a white colored pencil, they took us less than 5 minutes to finish.  Each grave got a zombie, which I propped up by first inserting a toothpick into the the cake, then placing the zombie over the toothpick.  As a finishing touch we added finely crumbled oreos, minus cream, to give the graves a more textured earth feel.  Bill gets credit for this idea, I didn’t even know we had oreos on hand.  The final result was so much better than I had anticipated.  These will definitely make a return next year, maybe as cupcakes? I would just need more zombies! Happy Halloween Everyone! Hope you have a spooky and safe holiday.




Leave a Reply

