Apple Orchard

{F21 denim shirt, Loft tee, Hue leggings, old leg warmers, gifted beaded necklace from my mom}

I spent this past week in Washington visiting my parents.  As always it was wonderful and went by way to quick.  Colorado has beautiful falls, but there is something amazing about being able to go visit the Pacific Northwest during this time of transitioning seasons.   The smells of salt water and wet earth stir my imagination and senses, differently than the dry and crisp air at home do.  Of course the absolute beauty of the Sound and the Olympic  Mountains, even when shrouded in grey haze, is inspiring, and for me calming.    The weather was mostly nice for my visit, with a few days of rain, but I liked that since it never seems to rain in Colorado anymore.  One day, just as the afternoon rain clouds started to move in my mom and I took a stroll around a neighborhood orchard just down the street from their house.  The trees in the orchard are adopted by families who take care of them throughout the year.  Many families had already picked their apples, but there were also a fair amount of trees waiting to be harvested.  If Fort Collins offered neighborhood apple tree adoption I would be first in line to adopt one!  While we didn’t get to take any apples with us we did snap a few photos.  I had just found this yellow jacket the day before in one of my favorite Seattle shops, Horseshoe Boutique , in Ballard, and it felt perfect for fall layering.  Really I would like to have everything from the store in my closet (especially everything Pendleton!) for the fall.  Check out their blog too, I love it!  Dangerously cute things, so perhaps it’s good I only get to visit a few times a year.

 

 

 

 

{Thread & Supply coat, Kool Earth hoodie}

 

Leave a Reply

