Patio Jungle

I have never had a green thumb.  In fact, my past record may suggest I’m a plant killer.  I love to visit greenhouses and gardens, and I love having living green in my house, but my ability to keep plants healthy and thriving felt hopeless.  That is until this summer.  Part of my plant problem comes from living in an apartment without much natural light. Even our (very small) patio gets very little sun. So instead of grabbing the plants I loved the most at the nursery, this year we took a little more time to pick out plants that only need partial light.  It seemed to make a big difference.  That and I was much more diligent about watering the plants when temperatures hit the triple digits. Those suckers get thirsty when its hot out!  I found it peaceful and meditative to spend time on the patio watering, clipping, photographing, and just enjoying our mini garden.  And to watch them not only grow but thrive, gave me a new sense of accomplishment, and hope.  Hope that not all is lost in this girls dream to one day have a fully functioning vegetable garden.  Baby steps.

Two nights ago however, our first really chilly cold front moved in on the front range, bring with it our first frost and a windy night.  Usually here in Fort Collins you can see the cold front sitting in foothills before it is pushed towards us, a wall of grey clouds and gusty wind announcing the coming cold.  So we were warned and got home in time to bring our plants inside.  A few will never make it, they are not built for indoor winter living (goodbye my very lush and very vibrant sweet potato vines).  Some will do very well, given we take extra care of them, giving them some extra sunshine on those gloriously warmer bluebird Colorado winter days. Others I guess we will have to see.   Fresh soil and bigger pots will also ( I hope) assist in keeping the plants healthy as they transition from outside to inside.  I’m taking this all as a learning process.

Here’s to my first successful summer season of growing, with lots of help form Bill.  And too the harsher months ahead, may our plant survival rate remain high!

Leave a Reply

