Paper Flowers

{materials}

Here are those cute easy tissue paper flowers I made for Alli’s birthday party.  I love this project for three main reasons. First, you can play with so many fun colors, which everyone knows I can never get enough color.   Second, you can find so many versatile ways to decorate with them. And the third reason…no glueing required! (I tend to make a mess with glue)  In the past I have always made larger bouquets of these delicate paper flowers but, I decided to play around with the size and found that the smaller ones were quite cute.  By wiring the smaller paper flowers to wooden skewers I was able to cluster the flowers and create an ideal way of displaying them. I would recommend practicing making larger flowers first, they are just easier to work with as you figure out the steps (the smaller the flower the tighter the folds are to work with) However, once you’ve got it, it’s a piece of cake.  I have explained the steps I took below but here is a video that might show the process more exact.

  • Tissue Paper, in various colors
  • Scissors
  • Wire (I used thin jewelry wire for my smaller flowers and gold pipe cleaners for the bigger ones)
  • Wooden Skewers

1.

Start by cutting the tissue paper in squares.  For each flower you will need 6 squares cut to the same size. I found quickly that it was much easier to cut the squares to size if I kept the paper stacked together from the packaging and did it all at once before any of the sheets got separated.  I cut squares in several different colors in the same sizes, but also played with the sizes of the squares, the bigger the square the bigger the flower.

2.

Fan fold the paper then cinch the paper at the center with the wire.  Twist the wire together on the bottom side and at the middle of you fanned paper.  This creates your flowers two halves and the “stem”.

3.

With the fan folded flat in on itself, cut off each end in a rounded manner, so that when splayed out (as above) the paper has a scalloped look.  If you forget this step, which I did once in my frenzy of folding, the flower will be very boxy.

4.

Starting at the inside (twisted wire “stem” on bottom) peel away the first layer of tissue paper, separating it from the other 5 pieces, and gently pull it towards the center.  Repeat this step with each individual sheet, bringing each one toward the center and around the “petals” in front of it.     I suggest doing this one side at a time, so after finishing on the first half, repeat the same steps on the second half.

5.

Violà!

6.

The last steps, attaching the flowers to the wooden skewers, doesn’t take much explanation. I simply tied the flowers on tightly to the end of each skewer, then taking the long ends of wire, wrapped them around the skewer multiple times above and below the knot.

7.

8.

I repeated this step 2x as I found 3 flowers (2 small, 1 mini) enough to conceal the end of the skewer and their wires, and  this achieved the aesthetic appeal I was going for.  But even one flower on a skewer looks cute too so play around.  Also, if you have trouble wrapping/tying the  wire around the skewer (it can easily slip) I see no reason why a hot glue gun wouldn’t do the trick just as well (but like I said above, I just like to avoid really sticky/burnt fingers).

With Cinco de Mayo just around the corner I might be making some more of these soon, nothing says fiesta faster than bright, vibrant florals, tart margaritas, and dancing.

Have fun with this project and hope everyone is having a fantastic Spring filled Saturday!

Leave a Reply

