Muffin Mishap = Delicious Dessert

During our chilly spurt this week I got the urge to make homemade muffins.  On brisk mornings with grey, wet skies there is nothing better than filling your home with warmth and sweet aromas from the oven.  I attempted to make a new recipe for whole wheat raspberry muffins, altering a few “small”  ingredients in the process.  The out come was okay, but my muffins were too dry and not very sweet at all (I’ll be working on this soon).  The first muffins, warm from the oven, with butter, cinnamon, and sugar, where delicious, but by day two they were way to dry to take down.   I chalked the muffins full of raspberries, blackberries, and walnuts, and with so many amazing ingredients on the line I could not let these guys go to waste.  Remembering how delicious the muffins where with butter, sugar, and cinnamon (but really what isn’t) and craving fruit the way I do, a cobbler felt like the only direction to take this baking blunder.  And man was the transformation amazing!  The muffins soaked up all the fruity goodness and provided the perfect cakey, crumbly topping for this tart cobbler.  Mmmmmm and it almost tastes healthy while eating dessert.

{walnuts and plenty of fruit made these muffins an ideal cobbler component }

I used the berries that I had left over from making the muffins (frozen raspberries and fresh blackberries), 1 plum, sliced, and two small granny smith apples, sliced, diced, and peeled, to fill the cobbler.  I layered those in an oven dish with butter, cinnamon, and sugar (it’s not an exact science so use butter and sugar to your taste preferences). Also because I love playing with sweet and savory flavors, I sprinkled about 1 Tbsp Thyme in with the mix.  I tossed that all, covered it, and put it in the oven at 375° for about 10 minutes, letting apples get a little soft.  I removed the dish and added the thawed (once frz. raspberries), more sugar and 2/3 c. water. Back in the oven it all went for 30 more minutes (just keep and eye on the consistency, letting the fruit cook, combine, and thicken).  While that cooked I mixed 1/2c. corn starch and 1/2 c. water.  After the 30 is up I removed the dish again and stirred in the corn starch liquid. (You can adjust the amount of corn starch and sugar you use depending on how thick/sticky you want the inside) Back in the oven for another 15 or so and then out for one last step! The muffin topping! I crumbled the 6 muffins remaining in a bowl, then sprinkled them over the entire top.   Can it get better?  Yes!  Try drizzling a small amount melted butter over the top along with brown sugar.  I turned the broiler on, and slid the cobbler in the oven one last time to make the top crispy.  5-7 minutes should do the trick.  Serve as breakfast with coffee and cream, or for desert a la mode (or for breakfast a la mode). I also imagine this would be a tasty with any left over stale muffins, or maybe with some oatmeal mixed in.

{1st layer}

{2nd layer}

{...the crumble}

{the final result...heavenly}

Leave a Reply

