Honey-Tomato Bruschetta with Ricotta

{heirloom tomatoes}

Mondays and Tuesdays are our weekends at this point in time.  Jobs in the restaurant industry usually means working through the weekends and often late nights, so with both of us working long hours at different restaurants, we cherish the time we can spend together at home, or enjoying the beauty and fun that both Fort Collins and Colorado have to offer.  This past weekend Colorado gifted us all with even more amazing weather, reaching the 80’s on Sunday with very little wind (and for those of you who don’t know…Northern Colorado is ALWAYS windy this time of year).  Nice weather gets people out of the house here which means busy, busy, busy, for local businesses.  While the weather kept us crazy busy for most of the weekend, it was hard not to be in a good mood with Summer outside in March and a full patio of happy people enjoy the sunshine (I should note mostly happy, some exasperatingly grumpy) The change in weather has had me craving fresher and lighter foods already, and I have marked a large number of pages in my favorite cookbook of the moment, Food and Wine’s 2009 Annual Cookbook, with recipes that are reminiscent of Summer evenings eating al fresco.   This particular recipe for Honey-Tomato Bruschetta with Ricotta caught my eye immediately, especially since most of the ingredients I keep stocked in the kitchen.   When I left work Sunday evening I could feel and hear the winds blowing in from the foothills, carrying colder weather that was inevitably due.  Grey skies and chilly temperatures kept us in most of yesterday, and though we could not enjoy our dinner outside, I still wanted make one of the recipes I had been eyeing.  I went with the easiest and most accessible.    While I would have liked to make my ricotta from scratch I lacked ingredients and energy (its amazing how much sun seems to give me).   I also did not have the fresh basil for garnishing the top, and my thyme was dried, so I will defiantly revisit this recipe for summer entertaining when all the ingredients can be fresher and more flavorful.   The result was still delicious, and the tomatoes roasted in honey gave the perfect combination of sweet and acidic.

{simple whole wheat baguette}

{ready for the oven}

 

{voilà! deliciousness!}

Leave a Reply

