his & her whole wheat pizzas

     left: mine- tomato, red onion, mushroom, garden basil, feta   right: his-  mushroom, red onion, garden basil, and spicy pepperoni, mozzarella          

I am not a baker.

I love cooking.  For me sautés, pastas, salads, soups, & anything that excludes exact measuring & mixing, can be a culinarily creative and artistic experience.   I love being able to improvise, adding a bit here, a bit there.  A bit of this, a bit of that…the “Oh! I have some of this! Let’s put it in & see what happens!”   This is not the same attitude with which one should approach a loaf of bread or a cake.   So, when I approach baked goods, my care-free attitude towards the kitchen leads to many cookies stuck on trays & rolls which have no roll, but instead lay flat & blah in the oven.  I have always felt that cooking is an art & baking is a science.  However, I know that baking has many artistic values & that I am just a little bitter because the only artistic skill I posses relevant to baking is decorating boxed cup cakes.  I must addmit some of the best thing happen when art & science lend themsevles to each other, take for example here & here.

Also, science in this case taste so good & is so rewardingly fresh when completed with success.  So I decided to tackle my dough demons by starting simple.  Last grocery trip I bought a bag of whole wheat flour in hopes that its presents in my pantry would inspire my inner betty crocker.

Monday morning it did.   I went hunting & found this recipe  for whole wheat pizza crust.  Seemed easy enough, with only 6 ingredients & step by step instructions, so I went for it.  & in less then 15 minutes I had finished the dough!

While at work I left the dough in the fridge & when I got home took it out for an hour to rise.  We made a floured work space on the kitchen table &, cutting the dough in two, each made our own shells. (we used regular flour for rolling because the dough got a little sticky)  Then we each topped our pizzas with fresh toppings & our favorite cheeses.  It made compromising on dinner easy & fun.

In after 20 minutes in the oven we each had our own individual pizzas paired with a chopped celery and garden vegetable salad with lemon juice and vinaigrette dressing.  The dough was delicious.  It reminded us both of a whole wheat baguette, crispy on the outside & chewy on the inside. perfection.  Each having our own pizza there was plenty of leftovers of course, which were easy to pack for work the next day (the pizza & crust were great cold too!)

While I’m still not convinced by my skills, giving lots of credit to the recipe’s simplicity, I now have a bit more confidence when turning the oven up & letting the yeast rise.  Next time I’ll get all mad scientist on my crust & throw in some rosemary and cracked black pepper.

Adios Amigos

till next time-

Leave a Reply

